Day 104: Modest Progress

February 25th 2016

Perhaps I made the wrong call yesterday, I have no doubt that had I pressed my luck and said the right things yesterday I would have ended up sleeping with Hannah; when you’re around my age, and women are involved, I understand that it’s easy to over think things, easy to interpret an action differently to how it was intended to be offered. This is not one of those cases. After talking over the moral implications of sleeping with Hannah, when I’m still not quite over Sophie, with a friend we came to the conclusion that it might not be the worst idea to try and connect to someone in a romantic sense again (even if the medium for it is simply a friends with benefits arrangement).

I wouldn’t put this out on my blog were that I knew Hannah would mind, to tell the truth we don’t really have all that many friends in common, so there’s really no social ramifications to posting this. For those of you out there who prefer a more tangible form of consent I can confirm that I do have her permission to talk about this. Brave of her.

If all goes well and I find myself slowly falling for Hannah, I ‘might’ consider taking it a step further than just friends with benefits but I don’t see that happening for quite some time, if at all. If I’m being rather candid, I think a relationship could work, but I know that I don’t actually want one- I’m not ready.

Past that today was actually rather productive. I made a very strong start on learning Katakana and have already memorised twenty five of their symbols. I have noticed, however, that I’m learning the basics of Katakana much easier than I learned the basics of Hiragana, whilst I don’t quite understand the reasons behind this, I can only assume that it’s because my brain is getting used to dealing with more complex symbols, as compared to a Latin based alphabet. Time will tell as the difficulty of learning Katakana and Hiragana as compared to Kanji is comparable to the complexity of a bottle rocket vs the Apollo space mission.

I, of course as prefaced earlier, had some contact with Hannah; I called to check on her hand, see whether she needed anything and checked how the pain was, I’m an engineer not a medical professional so I don’t really know what I would have done had she answered that last question with any degree of pain other than “it’s bearable”. I do worry, she’s a brave girl, but she is a bit of a wuss when it comes to pain.

I also began brainstorming for my new fan fiction, it’s hardly going to be a magnum opus, but it should be of decent quality to justify the amount of time I’m going to spend on it. It is going to be based in the Hyouka universe, is going to be a romance and is going to be of considerable length but as of this moment, that’s all I have; that and the main pairing will be between Houtarou Oreki and Eru Chitanda. I don’t really have any idea of what the plot will be but I’d say that putting anything out there, even if it has a shaky plot and is of questionable quality is better than doing nothing at all.

Depending on how you look at today it was either a modest success or almost a do nothing day, but that may simply be because I’m being a touch cynical over the usefulness of my actions. In any case, I’m satisfied with today and now I’m ready for bed.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

