Day 119:Japanese (Grammar)

March 12th 2016

Following the catastrophe that was yesterday, today I decided that I would still keep my movement to a minimum but, considering I didn’t want to pick up a knife and end it all because of the pain, decided that today should be a little more productive than simply watching television and idly flipping through my Japanese textbook. That being said, the day did start with me sitting down and learning some Japanese.

Genki2ndEdition

Initially I was greeted by two A4 sides of vocabulary that I was expected to memorise; accordingly I transcribed the utterances into my notepad and then transcribed them an extra time onto small flashcards. (Since this is going out two days after writing this I can confirm that this did in fact work and I do remember most of them, I’ll just have to work that little bit harder to memorise the others).

With that out of the way I decided that it would be prudent to look forwards a few pages, try and get a sneak peak at what I’d be trying to learn over the coming days, it turns out that it will be grammar.Nowhere in my book is it stated what “desu” means, nowhere except for a tiny box at the top of page forty two where it states that it translates as “it is” I cannot fully explain just how helpful it is to have that confirmed, up until this point I had only theorised that it meant something as such. The reason I bring it up is because it is uses so commonly and often in conjunction with sentences without a subject (e.g: I, you, they).

It turns out that the Japanese don’t always use a subject when the purpose of a statement is very clear, for example:

Takeshi: Sumimasen, ryuugakusee desu ka

(Excuse me, are you an international student)

Mary: Ee, London daigaku no, gakusee des

(Yes, I’m a student at the university of London)

Nowhere in that entire conversations is either “you” or “I” said, the purpose of the statements are made clear and thus, according to Japanese grammar, do not need a subject. It sounds simple, but it’s surprisingly difficult to actually wrap your hear around especially when your mind reads it as: “yes, London university student it is”. The meaning changes depending on the context and it’s punishing to understand.

It turns out that both broken English ‘and’ broken Japanese are real things.

It certainly forced me to look at the language in a different way as it’s a common joke in the west that people from Asia often butcher the spoken word, it is now my belief that that phenomenon may be a two way street. Westerners butcher eastern languages and vice versa- at least whilst they’re still learning to speak the language.

After finishing with my studies I decided that a break would be a wise course of action and I elected to spend my time relaxing with an hour or two on the visceral round based survival shooter Killing Floor 2 made by Tripwire Studios.To the uninitiated Killing Floor 2 is an extremely gruesome game that puts a huge emphasis on its brutal nature and, in fact… they’d be right!

kf2.jpg

The game is a no nonsense, balls to the wall romp through post apocalyptic scenarios in which your team is deployed to reduce all “Zeds” (enemies) to a fine red paste and save the areas they’re deployed to.

zeds

For a fee of course.

If you’re the kind of person who doesn’t need an incentive to play a game other than the fact that it’s a fun, lead packed, shooter that will have you wading through gore up to your knees then Killing Floor 2 is for you. It certainly is for me!

That’s all for today though.

Taa taa for now.

Leave a Reply

