Day 148: Penning Fanfiction.

April 10th 2016

Against my better judgement I was up late last night, long after my friends left for the night, writing; I’ve droned on about the things that I’ve wanted to do for a long while now, almost a hundred and fifty days but I suppose it takes that long to actually get the ball rolling sometimes…well, not really, I’m just lazy, but I digress. Last night I got around, with the help and ‘encouragement’ of a pal, to actually putting a start on my Zootopia fanfiction.

Zootopia-logo

I’ve already gushed enough about how I fell in love with this film but, the one thing I haven’t talked about is how it gave birth to something quite rare, an OTP. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the acronym, I envy you… spare youreself and run now! For those of you who have already swallowed the red pill you’ll know that this stands for: One True Pairing- it’s the couple, be it canon or head-canon, that you love the most. Just remember…

If you insult a man’s OTP, the hell you have wrought is your own fault

Like most people I figured, at the end of the movie, Nick and Judy would hook up, hell it’s Disney we’re talking about and they don’t beat around the bush when it comes to romance, even in childrens animation. Sadly though, this never happened and we’re left with a rather ambiguous ending which goes like this.

Nick: You know you love me.

Judy: Do I know that? Yes, yes I do!

Which gave rise to works of fiction such as the one I’m writing and a metric ‘fuck ton’ (that’s a technical term) of pictures like this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once more I’m digressing, but my point is that the pairing really struck an accord with me and inspired me to write something to do with it, it’s a big step! I haven’t put anything out into the world for a little over three years now, I previously thought it was two but, in actuality, it’s three and it’s daunting to say the least.

Regardless, I’m writing something and if no one enoys reading it that’s fine, but I enjoyed writing it and that’s what really matters.

The story is a little light on content at the moment, I didn’t feel confident enough to write something heavy with an overly complex story, that would be too hard for me and it simply wouldn’t read very well (much like this blog post). Instead I’ve decided that I wanted to do something straight, to the point and something close to my heart, a mature themed romance.

Now before you go closing this window, slapping the laptop shut and burning it in the middle of nowhere to save its innocence know that it’s not going to be something horrifically graphic,the idea is to use the significance of sex as a marker to truly express their connection, trust and love for one another- it’s a plot device due to the ‘short’ length of the piece. Don’t like it?  Don’t read it, it’s as simple as that.

And that’s how I spent my day.

In all seriousness though… please read it.
Thanks.
Leave a Reply

