Day 161: Hairdressers

April 23rd 2016

After waking up late today I had to skip breakfast and, actually now that I think about it, I’ve done that for the past few weeks now, my diet is famously poor, not because of its content, more because of the lack thereof. I don’t usually eat much in a day and I ‘very rarely’ eat two thousand calories, I just struggle to get it down, I fill up way too quickly, but that’s a discussion for another time.

I raced out of the house this morning, skipping breakfast, because I had a hair appointment that I had to keep. To some people going to the hairdressers can seem like a bit of a chore, but nor for me; Grenville, my particular hair dresser, always strikes up interesting and thought provoking conversations with me- I relish our talks.

This time the subject at hand was “What make you a man”, his description of a ‘man’ is as follows (or as close to it as I can remember).

In my mind a man is: A physically fit, learned individual who is polite, academically inclined and who has a vested interest in art, literature and science in one capacity or another.

Now, ‘generally’ , when someone attributes criteria for ‘success’, as it were, to such a large group of people when there’s no correct way to be or live, I stand against it, but in this case, I think Grenville has a point…

Perhaps the only way that I would refine his classification of a man is that, in my eyes, his definition of a man is actually that of a ‘gentleman’, aferall…

Being male is a matter of luck, being a man is a matter of age, but being a gentleman is a matter of choice.

And all of the aforementioned qualities are cultivated by choice

Even after I returned home the thought still lingered in my mind and it still does, I don’t understand it, but I can summarise todays blog with one statement.

I am not a gentleman.

Not yet.

 

Leave a Reply

