Day 168:Off The Rails

April 30th 2016

My notes on what happened on this day are a little sparse, which I can only intuit as meaning that a great deal of nothing happened today. With that in mind I think it might be prudent to use today’s post as something of a sounding board with which to explore the notion of why the past hundred and sixty days or so have been very trying.

First off I’m lazy, which makes any endeavor, no matter how big or small, immediately more difficult, I’m hard to motivate and, byextension, I get sidetracked by things that would grant me more immediate catharsis easily. I am working to combat this but, if I’m being frank, I’ve had no success.

catharsis

Everyone goes off of the rails at some point, they do things that they’re not proud of and they stagnate for periods of time, it’s part of life, everyone makes mistakes and not everything goes smoothly, it’s part of what makes us human. What really matters isn’t that you fell or that you’ve stumbled, what matters is how you drag yourself up off of the ground and keep pushing forwards- you’ve not lost until you give up.

I NEVER intend to give up.

Work!.jpg

I said it yesterday and I’ll say it again today, nothing worth having is easy; if you want to be smarter, you’ve got to read and read and read, practice and implement! Hard. If you want to be stronger, you’ve got to eat, exercise and drive through the pain to forge the physique you want! Hard. Learning how to cook, how to code or even something like learning to swim, none of these endeavors are easy, but they’re all worth the pain, you’ve got to shrug it off and keep going, if you don’t, you might as well be dead.

Never give up.
Leave a Reply

