Day 2: Taking First Steps

May 27th 2016

It is a completely fair summation that, over the last six months, I’ve remained mostly stagnant; yes, I have finally overcome my depression but doing so commanded almost all of my energy and attention, thus depriving me of seeking opportunities to improve my physical situation.

Well That Ends Now!

5k.jpgThe first thing that I want to improve is my waning fitness. With my weakened knee still playing up I know that starting off on a particularly intense workout regime would be a mistake, not only would I not be able to keep up with it but it would doubtless aggravate the injury and prolong my convalescence period. Instead, I stumbled upon something called: Couch to 5k and it’s exactly what it says on the tin- over a period of nine weeks, this should take you from barely being able to run for a bus (me in a nutshell) to being able to run five kilometers in thirty minutes.

The reason I decided that this would be a good undertaking was because my area is ‘reasonably’ flat, so there’s no massive inclines I’ll have to conquer, and the regime is, in fact, pretty lax- at the start. Plenty of time to both strengthen and heal my knee.

The downside to this plan of mine is so terrible, so horrid, that I struggle to find the words to properly explain my ardor for this consequence… but I’ll try. I have to wear… track suit bottoms… THE SHAME!!! Jokes aside though I genuinely can’t remember the last time I wore ‘trackies‘, it’s been about five years since I even owned a pair and even longer since I actually wore them. Not to say that there’s anything wrong with them, there really isn’t, I just prefer jeans, they feel nicer and with the way that I treat my clothes, the stronger fabric really does pay for itself.

This, for me, is the start of a long road, it’s what I wanted to do when I first started this seeing what's nextblog, create an archive that cataloged my day to day life and achievements that also inspires me to do more, to push myself to do bigger and better things and eventually become the version of me that I want to be.

So, here’s a song for you to chew on until tomorrow’s post, it’s fitting of this new start and new found determination I posses.

 

I’m just “Seeing What’s Next”

Leave a Reply

